I moved away from London just after turning 18 so one of the vital things I missed out on is the amazing nightlife of our Capital. So, on my return, I will be creating a bucket list of bars that I want to go to during my year, some upmarket and elegant, others vintage and naughty. I’m sure that this list will get much longer, but for now these definitely make the cut…

Sky Garden, Fenchurch Street  – The Sky Pod Bar opens at 7am Monday to Friday and closes late giving plenty of opportunity to see the gorgeous views London has to offer all while taking in the greenery of the gardens.

The Jade Door, China Town – Hidden behind an inconspicuous jade door is this Dim Sum and and Opium cocktail parlour. From what I hear the cocktails here will knock your head clear off and at a price range of £10 – £15 each you would hope they do.

The Blues Kitchen, Camden – This is the only bar on the list I have actually been to before but I loved it so much it’s going on anyway. Ideal for late afternoon/early evening drinks with a group, they also have locations in Shoreditch and Brixton!

The Parlour @ Sketch, Mayfair – If you haven’t heard of Sketch this is probably the first blog you’ve ever seen. The Gallery has become every blogger’s dream, The Parlour however, offers similarly instagrammable locations but in a cosier setting, perfect for an evening of cocktails and romance.

La Bodega Negra, Soho – If you ever see a group of people walking into what appears to be a sex shop, follow them, they might just lead you into this secret gem. A mexican restaurant with a great tequila menu, this place is not quite what it seems.

Boisdale of Belgravia, Eccleston Street – A truly classy evening, with a huge whisky menu and cigar terrace this place gets on the list thanks to my parents. They couldn’t stop recommending the live jazz and with a large private dining room this sounds ideal for a birthday celebration.

